

Located at 20700 Swenson Drive, Suite 100, Waukesha, WI 53186

# CIRCULAR LETTER 2959 – JUNE 1, 2005

#### PROCEEDINGS OF THE WISCONSIN RATING COMMITTEE

## TO: MEMBERS OF THE BUREAU

Minutes of the Wisconsin Rating Committee meeting held in the premises of the Wisconsin Compensation Rating Bureau, 20700 Swenson Drive, Waukesha, WI 53186 on Thursday, May 19, 2005. The meeting was called to order immediately following the Annual Meeting with the following members present:

### **ORGANIZATION**

Employers Insurance of Wausau, Chair Allied Construction Employers Association Continental Casualty Insurance Company Employers Mutual Casualty Company General Casualty Insurance Company

Sentry Insurance A Mutual Company

Society Insurance A Mutual Company

Travelers Insurance Company United Wisconsin Insurance Company Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce Wisconsin Compensation Rating Bureau

#### Also Present:

American Home Assurance Company AmComp Insurance Badger Mutual Insurance

Fireman's Fund Insurance Company Milliman USA Office of the Commissioner of Insurance R & R Insurance Riegel Law, S.C. West Bend Mutual Insurance

### REPRESENTATIVE

Mike Koski Ed Hayden George Agyen Mike Lester Jim Vandenberg Mike Schimke **Bill Swarthout** Ellen Altenburg-Wadel

Rick Levin

Chad Thurn Bruce Kaufenberg **Emil Pfenninger** John Metcalf Ralph Herrmann Richard Colvin Nancy Kierzek

Christine Siekierski Tad Cleveland Donna Knepper

Ira Feuerlicht Debbie Towler Terry Falls

Jeremy Jutrzonka

Ken Blake

Gary Josephson Laura Andreasson Nancy McMurry Paul Riegel Tom Holman Pam Allison

## **CIRCULAR LETTER 2959 – JUNE 1, 2005 – PAGE 2**

The Chairperson read the following opening statement before convening the meeting:

"This Committee meeting has been called to discuss the items of mutual interest and concern to the members of the Wisconsin Compensation Rating Bureau. In accordance with both Federal and Wisconsin State Anti-trust Laws, this Committee is prohibited from any discussion or action which constitutes any form of boycott, coercion, or intimidation."

This Special Rating Committee meeting was called to discuss the following items:

- 1. The Actuarial Subcommittee presented preliminary information on the proposed October 1, 2005 rate revision to the Committee. The Subcommittee met on February 12, 2005 to discuss the methodology. The Subcommittee voted to maintain the current 2 year paid with 2 year LDF methodology; however, in the event any two of the three following scenarios occur after review of the financial call data, consideration would be given to incorporating a methodology which incorporates case incurreds:
  - If case reserve development continues to grow at a rate similar to what occurred last year.
  - If paid loss development returns to previous levels of increase.
  - If claim frequency continues to decline.

The Actuarial Subcommittee concluded that they felt there was evidence that all three criteria were met. Therefore, the Actuarial Subcommittee's recommendation was to give 50% weight to the indication based on paid losses and 50% to the indication based on paid plus case losses. Following considerable discussion, the Committee voted 9 to 1 to file the recommended change in methodology. United Wisconsin Insurance Company opposed the change. A second motion was made and unanimously adopted to direct WCRB staff continue discussions on methodology with the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance.

2. By unanimous consent of all members present, this item was added to the agenda.

President Herrmann updated the Committee on the ongoing discussions with the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, the Department of Workforce Development, and members of several Professional Employer Organizations (PEOs) with regard to the treatment of PEOs in WI. These collective parties are attempting to draft language which would enable the tracking of payroll and loss experience, by employer, for purposes of experience rating and to address issues related to proof of coverage and divided coverage. These changes would be proposed to the Worker's Compensation Advisory Council for inclusion into the 2006 Agreed Bill.

Donna Knepper Executive Secretary